Casualty of Irma

p1190551Dear Furiends,

Irma caused a purrsonal loss that I’m finally ready to share.

I lost my favorite banana tree.

Practically every day, I would climb it until I was high enough to look over our fence, then I would get the neighbor dog’s attention (he is a pesky, noisy fellow)…. When he saw me, he would over-react and start barking and barking and barking. Eventually, his owner would come out and scold him for being noisy…. Of course, as

20170909_135417soon as that door began to open, I would duck out of sight, so that annoying dog appeared to be barking at nothing…. Alas, my tree had a half-grown bunch of bananas, so combine being off balance by that with Irma’s rain and winds, I finally got outside to see this:

It will be months before any of the others are tall enough for me to resume my game.

Purrseidon

>^.^<

31 thoughts on “Casualty of Irma

      1. Kosmo, bananas grow in a clump off the same root system, so my tree will regrow from it’s roots… I also have several young ones coming up, too… Mom says this is not a huge tragedy since banana trees never last more than a couple years…. this one would have died as soon as its bananas ripened. >^.^<

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Only the tall one that had fruit got knocked over. As you can see in the photo, I still have lots of young ones that were purrtected by the fence. … You will also notice that my staff has been slacking at edge trimming… they claim they can’t work in the rain AND won’t let me out in it to prove them wrong! >^.^<

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank Hathor for that!!! I don’t know what I would have done if I’d been robbed of my ‘nip, again! As is, it is safe in its pot, so M will be able to continue napping near it when he is in the catio… He claims it gives the air a pleasant scent, but I also know that – unlike thieving storms – he would never touch it. >^.^<

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

