New Horizons

Dear Furiends,mtele

Did you know that the New Horizons space probe has maneuvered to get ready to do a flyby of 2014 MU69?   If not, I’m not surprised, because this will be in the Kuiper Belt and it will not occur until 31 December 2018 or 1 January 2019.

Did you even remember that New Horizons was launched from Cape Canaveral on January 19, 2006? (I admit that I was unaware of this, which is probably because it was ‘before my time’… I might be a senior cat, but I’m certainly not over 11 years old!)

170px-15-011a-NewHorizons-PlutoFlyby-ArtistConcept-14July2015-20150115
Artist’s impression, found on Wikipedia.

Since it’s launch, New Horizons has been busy. Thus far, it has done a flybys of Jupiter and Pluto. (That video clip I shared of Pluto was taken by it.) And now, New Horizons is heading for the Kuiper belt!

I discovered the flight path clip, below on Google+.

Keep an eye on the sky, dear furiends!

Mr. M =^.^=

AfterPluto3.gif

4 thoughts on “New Horizons

Leave a Reply

