Sky Watch with Mr. M

Dear Furiends,mtele

Today’s Sky Watch post is close to home.  Hurricane season officially begins June 1, but this past Thursday. Tropical Storm Arlene was named. by the National Weather Service’s Hurricane Center in Miami. I am keeping a very concerned eye on our clouds!

Need I remind you that last year,  Matthew, a CAT 2 hurricane, went over our house and stole Purr’s catnip plant?!?! Of course, our family temporarily moved inland for a couple nights to visit furiends and I had my own horrors, when I realized that Ms. Cricket, had very undoggish intentions toward me. <shiver> I don’t want to recall the circumstances, but if you’re interested, Purr gossiped about it.hurricane-92968__340

Since hurricane season is starting early, this year,  I thought you might enjoy this info-graphic about how they are formed.

Keep an eye on the sky, dear fureinds … and pay attention to weather.com, too!

Mr. M  =^.^=

762e9a5d330157826bb7eaccf43a8767.jpg

 

15 thoughts on “Sky Watch with Mr. M

  1. Hi! I just wanted to say how much I enjoy your blog. It combines my biggest interests… Cats, Astronomy and natural science topics in general. As with this post, I am fascinated by the science behind weather. It’s just pawsome! Thank you for writing this wonderful blog! I hope I can catch up to everything I missed these past few weeks, since I haven’t been online as much as I would have liked, due to being busy and then unwell. Murli and I wish you a pleasant start into the new week! 👩😺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, we don’t have a basement, which is why we went inland to visit furiends. The good thing about hurricanes is that the staff has days to watch/plan, so the hurricane shutters were up two days before they decided to leave… I wanted to stay because my weather-hero Jim Cantori was setting up his cameras about 3 miles from us…. Unfortunately, I was rudely overruled and stuffed into a crate!!!! Apparently my reason for wanting to stay was the staff’s motivation to leave…. Mr. Cantori likes to be in the middle of storms. =^.^=

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Matthew was the first one to hit our area in over 30 years…. purrhaps it was waiting to swipe a fine catnip plant. (Purr is STILL fuming over that…. yet she didn’t understand my upset over the theft of my silvervine stick!) =^.^=

      Like

  2. messymimi

    We pray for no storms this year. Last year’s flood in this area showed what happens when such circulation that forms a hurricane tries to start over land.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Floods are common after draughts – so are wild fires. The fire aspect seems obvious to me, but many don’t think about the way a sponge gets hard when it gets dry-dry…. A dry sponge is virtually useless to clean up spills, while a damp one is very effective. The correlation, as I see it, is that damp sponges and damp earth both absorb water. When the water is absorbed, it doesn’t run off and create a flooding situation. Of course, there are always exceptions, like saturated earth, which is incapable of absorbing more water… Cutting down forests, contributes to floods, too. Do you live in the US? =^.^=

      Like

  3. Oh, I hope you stay safe! We don’t get hurricanes where I live, but we are in “volcano” region. We do get small earthquakes, too, but I’ve only felt one. It woke me up from a nap one afternoon! Arlene? I wonder if it was named for Garfield’s lady cat friend… Tee hee hee!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The staff have lived in areas plagued by earthquakes and volcanoes, but I haven’t traveled as far as they have. I have no idea who picks out the names of the storms or why they choose the names they do. Did you know that one was named after mom? It’s true. Hurricane Jeanne was the deadliest hurricane in the 2004 Atlantic hurricane season. =^.^=

      Like

  4. Wow! I had no idea paths change over the season – or that one part of the season had the most intense storms. I happened to be close to Ft. Lauderdale when Katrina and Rita came through – my first experience of hurricanes. After hearing locals talk about how horrid Andrew was – I was terrified – but we got lucky. We’re sorry about your traumatic encounter with the amorous cock-a-poo … unrequited love is serious business!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hurricanes are something that take a while to arrive, so everyone has plenty of time to prepare. Since Andrew, building codes were upgraded. Our house was built in 2005 – with the new codes -and even though it was smack-dab in the middle of Matthew, it didn’t even lose a shingle. IMHO, my experience with Ms. Cricket was more
      traumatic… I’m not sure what her emotion is, but for certain, she wanted to lick the stuffings out of me. Horrible experience!
      I think tornadoes, volcanoes and earthquakes must be much worse because there is very little warning prior to them hitting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

