Skywatch with Mr. M

 

mteleDear Furiends,

What were the odds that the Aurora (a.k.a. Northern Lights) would look like a wolf? I wish those who post these things on Pinterest would mention when the photo was taken, mainly because I wonder if this might have been taken during the Chinese Year of the Dog. (Dog is the eleventh in the 12-year cycle of Chinese zodiac sign. The Years of the Dog include 1922, 1934, 1946, 1958, 1970, 1982, 1994, 2006, 2018, 2030, 2042…) 20deffe3-222c-4589-8bec-abdab5568d95

The green of the Aurora is typical, but that wolf/dog is certainly unexpected.  The one below almost looks like the flowing gown of someone dancing:aurora1

I, purrsonally, have never had to privilege of seeing this amazing display (I live too far South). However, our dear brofur Kosmo, who lives in Chilly Finland, has seen this (he also sees very COLD temperature in winter, but at least he has a toasty fireplace to warm up on).

As I said, the Aurora normally has green tones, but it can also have other colors.

Keep an eye on the sky, my Furiends!  Mr. M  =^.^=

PS: A variation of this is called a Proton Arc – you can read my post on that, here.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Skywatch with Mr. M

    1. Pops has done all three of those, but Mom has never crossed the equator, though she has been as far South as about 9 degrees North – she has been far enough North to cross the Arctic Circle….. I love their photos. (I have only lived between 23 & 35 degrees North.) They say that when they lived aboard their catamaran (EvenStar was exactly like Xander’s fictional Whispurring Winds.) and they were sailing somewhere, at night, the sky was too amazing for a photo to do it justice. IMHO, your three goals are very worthy, but I would not like the water aspect of actually living on a catamaran…. =^.^=

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to see those lights dancing in the sky above me, rather than just in photos. Pop and Mom said that cross-country skying under the aurora was magical…. I am not sure I’d like that skying part, but I am confident I’d love to watch the lights dancing in the sky. =^.^=

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

